23 March 2006

IAPA Announces 2006 Scholarship Winners


IAPA Announces Scholarship Winners

Quito, Ecuador (March 22, 2006) - The Scholarship Fund of the Inter American Press Association (IAPA) has selected this years scholarship winners during the organizations Midyear Meeting in Quito, Ecuador on March 17-20, 2006.

The scholarship winners are:

Claudia Boyd-Barrett from Miami, Florida, Estados Unidos, Irene Vizcaino from Alajuela,Costa Rica and Elena Isabel Ordoñez from Quito, Ecuador.

Each year the IAPA offers scholarships for journalists in Latin America and the Caribbean to study in the United States, and for journalists in the United States to study in Latin America. The scholarship is meant to cover costs for travel and general expenses for one year. Funding for these scholarships has been generously provided by the Angel Ramos Foundation and special contributions from the IAPA newspaper members.

Paul K. Scripps, from E. W. Scripps Company, San Diego, California, and Chairman of the IAPA Scholarship Fund along with Carlos Salinas, El Diario de Coahuila, México and 1st Vice President confirmed the names of the scholarship winners during a special meeting of the IAPA Scholarship Fund in Quito, Ecuador.