21 March 2007

IAPA Announces 2007 Scholarship Winners


IAPA Announces Scholarship Winners

Quito, Ecuador (March 21, 2007) - The Scholarship Fund of the Inter American Press Association (IAPA) has selected this years scholarship winners during the organizations Midyear Meeting in Cartagena de Indias, Colombia on March 16 -19, 2007.

The scholarship winners are:

Melissa Sánchez from Detroit, Michigan, Estados Unidos, Maria Felicita Baruch, México and Adriana Loeff from Montevideo, Uruguay.

Each year the IAPA offers scholarships for journalists in Latin America and the Caribbean to study in the United States, and for journalists in the United States to study in Latin America. The scholarship includes financial aid and travel expenses. Funding for these scholarships has been generously provided by the Angel Ramos Foundation and special contributions from the IAPA newspaper members.

Paul K. Scripps, from E. W. Scripps Company, San Diego, California, and Chairman of the IAPA Scholarship Fund confirmed the names of the scholarship winners along with Alfredo Jiménez de Sandi from Imagen de Zacatecas, México and the Treasurer André Jungblut, Gazeta do Sul, Santa Cruz do Sul, Brasil during a special meeting of the IAPA Scholarship Fund in Cartagena de Indias, Colombia.