13 March 2000

IAPA Announces 2000 Scholarship Winners

Cancun (March 14) - The Board of Directors of the Scholarship Fund of the Inter American Press Association (IAPA) has selected this years scholarship recipients during the organizations Midyear Meeting in Cancun, Mexico, on March 10-14, 2000. The scholarship winners are: IAPA: Lisbeth Rosario Rubino Huaman, Lima, Peru IAPA: Juliana Valencia Zuluaga, Medellín, Colombia IAPA: Sonja Bjelland, Maroa, Illinois, United States IAPA-Angel Ramos Foundation: Silvina Acosta Framalico, Macaray, Venezuela IAPA-O Estado de S. Paulo: Mary Ryan, Bethesda, Maryland, United States Each year the IAPA offers scholarships for journalists in Latin America and the Caribbean to study in the United States, and for journalists in the United States to study in Latin America. The scholarship is in the amount of $13,000 and includes travel expenses. Funding for these scholarships has been generously provided by the Angel Ramos Foundation, O Estado de S. Paulo newspaper in São Paulo, Brazil, and special contributions from the IAPA newspaper members. The names of the recipients were presented to the IAPA Board of Directors by Bartolomé Mitre, La Nación, Buenos Aires, in the representation of Alejandro Aguirre, Diario Las Américas, Miami, Florida, and President of the IAPA Scholarship Fund.