01 April 2008

IAPA Announces 2008 Scholarship Winners


IAPA Announces Scholarship Winners

Miami (March 31, 2008) - The Scholarship Fund of the Inter American Press Association (IAPA) has selected this years scholarship winners during the Midyear Meeting in Caracas, Venezuela on March 28 -30, 2008.

The scholarship winners are:

Summer Harlow, Wilmington, Delaware

Desirée Jaimovich, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Marian Marval, Caracas, Venezuela and

Eva Menezes, São Paulo, Brasil

Each year the IAPA offers scholarships for journalists in Latin America and the Caribbean to study in the United States, and for journalists in the United States and Canada to study in Latin America. The scholarship includes financial aid and travel expenses. Funding for these scholarships has been provided by special contributions from the IAPA newspaper members.

Jayme Sirotsky, from RBS, Porto Alegre, Brazil and President of the IAPA Scholarship Fund confirmed the names of the scholarship winners along with Carlos Salinas from Diario de Coahuila and Alfredo Jiménez de Sandi from Zacatecas en Imagen, both from Mexico, Sidnei Basile from Grupo Abril, São Paulo, Brazil and the Treasurer Silvia Miró Quesada, from El Comercio, Lima, Perú during a special meeting of the IAPA Scholarship Fund in Caracas, Venezuela.