14 November 2018

IAPA accepts submissions for 2019 journalism awards

The awards ceremony will be held in October 2019 during IAPA's 75th General Assembly in Miami, Florida.

MIAMI, Florida (November 15, 2018)—The Inter American Press Association (IAPA) now is accepting submissions for its 2019 journalism awards.

Entries in 13 award categories are open to journalists from the Americas including the Caribbean; and Spain. Participants need not belong to IAPA.

"In October we had an extraordinary awards ceremony during IAPA's 74th General Assembly in Salta, Argentina. This is one of the most important programs with which the IAPA contributes to upholding the tradition of good journalism in our continent, so diverse and abundant in talent," declared Marcel Granier, president of RCTV, Caracas, Venezuela, who chairs the organization's Awards Committee.

Prospective applicants should consult the Rules to learn the requirements. The deadline for submissions is January 30, 2019.

Entries may be uploaded to here.

A jury made up of members of IAPA's Awards Committee will choose the winner in each of the categories. The first prize consists of $2,000. The awards ceremony will be held in October 2019 during IAPA's 75th General Assembly in Miami, Florida.

Each year the IAPA awards the Press Freedom Grand Prize to a person or organization with significant achievements in support of this cause.

The 13 categories are:

1. Cartoon (Sponsored by El Tiempo, Bogotá, Colombia)

2. Online News Coverage (Sponsored by TV Venezuela, Miami, Florida)

3. News Coverage (Sponsored by O Estado S. Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil)

4. Alejandro Miró Quesada Garland News Coverage on Mobile Phones (Sponsored by El Comercio, Lima, Peru)

5. Features (Sponsored by El Comercio, Quito, Ecuador, and McClatchy Newspapers, Sacramento, California)

6. Human Rights and Community Service (Sponsored by Panamá-América, Panama City, Panama; El Comercio, Lima, Peru; Organización Publicitaria, S.A., San Pedro Sula, Honduras, and La Nación, Buenos Aires, Argentina)

7. Photography (Sponsored by ABC Color, Asunción, Paraguay, and La Prensa Gráfica, San Salvador, El Salvador)

8. Infographics (Sponsored by Clarín, Buenos Aires, Argentina)

9. Opinion (Sponsored by El Mercurio, Santiago, Chile)

10. Data Journalism (Instituto de Prensa, Madrid, Spain)

11. In-Depth Journalism (Sponsored by La República, Lima, Peru)

12. Roberto Eisenmann Jr. Environment Journalism (sponsored by La Prensa, Panama)

13. Pedro Joaquín Chamorro University Journalism (Sponsored by La Prensa, Managua, Nicaragua).

The IAPA is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to the defense and promotion of freedom of the press and of expression in the Americas. It is made up of more than 1,300 publications from throughout the Western Hemisphere and is based in Miami, Florida.