13 November 2020

IAPA Accepts Entries for its 2021 Excellence in Journalism Awards Competition


Review the regulations and register your entry here.

Miami (November 13, 2020) - The Inter American Press Association (IAPA) is now accepting entries for its 2021 Excellence in Journalism Awards from news media professionals from North America, Latin America, the Caribbean and Spain.

"As always, we insist on the need of motivating the industry to upgrade its standards and strengthening journalistic values in all the content distribution platforms", said the president of the IAPA Awards Committee, Leonor Mulero, of Grupo Ferré Rangel, San Juan, Puerto Rico.

"In this edition, we are offering a highly improved registration form which makes it easier to participate and avoid common errors in the submissions," said Mulero.

Only articles published during 2020 in newspapers, weeklies, magazines or online qualify. The closing date for receipt of applications is January 30, 2021.

A jury comprised of members of the IAPA Awards Committee will choose the winner in each category. Winners will receive US$2,000 (two thousand dollars). The awards ceremony will be held October 2021 during the 77th IAPA General Assembly.

See the videos of the 2020 winners (add links here)

As it does each year, the IAPA will also award its Grand Prize for Freedom of the Press to a person or organization with significant achievements in that cause.

To participate it is not necessary to belong to the IAPA; just click here.

The 14 categories for the 2021 Excellence in Journalism Awards are:

1. Cartoon (sponsored by El Tiempo, Bogotá, Colombia)

2. News coverage on the internet (sponsored by TV Venezuela, Miami, Florida)

3. News coverage (sponsored by Grupo Opsa, San Pedro Sula, Honduras)

4. Alejandro Miró Quesada Garland mobile news coverage (sponsored by El Comercio, Lima, Perú)

5. Chronicle (sponsored by El Comercio, Quito, Ecuador, and McClatchy Newspapers, Sacramento, California)

6. Human rights and community service (sponsored by El Comercio, Lima, Perú)

7. Photography (sponsored by La Prensa Gráfica, San Salvador, El Salvador)

8. Infographics (sponsored by Clarín, Buenos Aires, Argentina)

9. Opinion (sponsored by El Mercurio, Santiago, Chile)

10. Data journalism (sponsored by IE Business School, Madrid, Spain)

11. In-depth journalism (sponsored by La República, Lima, Perú)

12. Roberto Eisenmann Jr. environment journalism (sponsored by La Prensa, Panamá)

13. "FIU Global Health" health journalism (sponsored by the Robert Stempel College of Public Health & Social Work, of Florida International University, Miami, Florida).

14. Pedro Joaquín Chamorro university journalism (sponsored by La Prensa, Managua, Nicaragua)

IAPA is a non-profit organization dedicated to the defense and promotion of freedom of the press and expression in the Americas. It is made up of more than 1,300 publications from the Western Hemisphere; and is based in Miami, United States.