About the presentation of postulated works, about the Jury, and the awards

About the required documentation

1. Articles and stories published in Spanish, English, and Portuguese may compete. The various categories can be seen on the registration form. This form must be completed and submitted online.
2. The IAPA Grand Prize for Press Freedom is open to individuals or organizations that have developed extraordinary action in defense of press freedom. Authorities, employees, or people hired by the IAPA may not compete. IAPA members can only nominate people or institutions for this award during the Mid-Year Meeting held in March or April each year.
3. Those articles published in a newspaper, weekly, magazine, or online publication may compete. However, those published in books, essays, theses, and any other intellectual manifestation outside the mentioned media will not be able to compete. The same applies to news agencies.
4. The nominated works must have been published between June 1 of 2023 and May 31 of 2024. The nominations must be submitted before May 31.

1. To compete, contestants must upload their data electronically on the IAPA website through a Word or PDF. They must upload their name, category, personal and media address that published the work, among other data.
2. In the case of serial articles that exceed five publications, the competitor must upload the first five and the last one and mention the number of articles in the series.
3. In the case of photographs, cartoons, and infographics, they can be loaded with the program available for images. It must be specified on which page or place the work was published in the media.
4. The Jury will make a shortlist of the ten best works. The Jury may also request the original works or more information.

About limitations

1. The works may compete only in one category. However, the Jury may reclassify the category.
2. The contestant may only upload one work per medium, even if it has been published in various media of the news company.
3. A contestant may enter three categories but not submit more than one entry per category. A collective work will be considered as a single person.
4. The awards are given to journalists, not to the media.
5. The author (or authors) and the publisher assign intellectual property to the IAPA so that IAPA can publish the winners’ works on its website.

About the Jury

1. The IAPA president will appoint the president, vice president, and other judges of the Jury. The Jury will consist of directors, editors, and journalists representing IAPA media members
2. The Jury deliberates before the IAPA General Assembly, which is held in October or November each year.
3. The judges will exclude themselves from their tasks if a work published in their medium is submitted to the contest.

About the prizes

1. The first prize winners will receive their prizes in cash, plaques, or diplomas during the General Assembly. In addition, the Jury may also award certificates to the winners of honorable mentions.
2. Travel and lodging expenses for the winners at the General Assembly correspond to the media in which the winners work.
3. The IAPA exempts the winners from the registration fee for the General Assembly.