10 March 2020

Nominate a Reporter for the 2020 Maria Moors Cabot Prize

Honoring Outstanding Reporting on the Americas

The Maria Moors Cabot Prizes honoring outstanding reporting on the Americas at Columbia University are now accepting nominations for 2020. The deadline to nominate yourself or a fellow journalist is Friday, March 20.

This award honors journalists for exceptional and courageous reporting on Latin America and the Caribbean that impacts society and promotes greater Inter-American understanding, and for their commitment to important stories over the course of a long and distinguished career.

Who is eligible?

● Any journalist and/or news executive who works for any news organization based in the Western Hemisphere or any press association or news service that serves such an organization;

● Other individuals, including freelance journalists, with a long record of reporting on the region;

● All media platforms, including online publications.

The Cabot Prizes Jury, comprised of journalists and educators including past winners concerned with hemisphere affairs, will judge the nominations. The four honorees are announced in the summer and will each receive a Cabot medal and a $5,000 honorarium. Special citations may also be awarded. As of 2019, 301 Cabot gold medals and 63 special citations have been conferred.

What does the Cabot Jury look for?

The Cabot Prizes Jury looks for exceptional and courageous reporting that impacts society, and evidence of commitment to important stories over the course of a long and distinguished career. They are particularly interested in journalists and news organizations that have made a sustained contribution to Inter-­American understanding through their coverage of the Americas. The jury also seeks to honor journalists who have taken active roles in upholding freedom of the press in the Americas.

Visit the nomination form for more information here.