IAPA to Attend World Press Freedom Day Events in Uruguay


Miami (May 1, 2022) - The president of the Inter American Press Association (IAPA), Jorge Canahuati, will lead a delegation to UNESCO Global Conference to be held May 2-5 in Punta del Este, Uruguay, to commemorate World Press Freedom Day.

IAPA delegates will participate in various panels. For example, on May 3, the round table on "Viability of the Media in Latin America and the Caribbean: Follow-up to Windhoek +30" will feature presentations by Canahuati, CEO of Grupo Opsa, Honduras; Martha Ramos, chair of the IAPA Internet Committee and editor of Organización Editorial Mexicana, Mexico; Danielle Coffey, News Media Alliance, United States; Eugenio Sosa Mendoza and Juan Andrés Lerrena, president and executive director of the International Association of Broadcasting (IAB), respectively, and Marcelo Liberini, Caracol TV, Colombia. Guillermo Scheck, from the Association of Newspapers of Uruguay will moderate the panel.

In a second panel, under the same theme, will participate Carlos Jornet, chairman of the IAPA Committee on Freedom of the Press and Information and director of La Voz del Interior, Córdoba, Argentina; Daniel Dessein, president of the Association of Argentine Journalistic Entities and IAPA regional vice-chairman for Argentina; Paul Deegan, from News Media Canada, Canada; Kiran Maharaj, from the Media Institute of the Caribbean; Marcelo Bechara, from Grupo Globo, Brazil, and Rafael Inchausti, from the National Association of Uruguayan Broadcasters. Ana María Urrutia de Lara, from IAB, will moderate the event.

In the World Press Freedom Day framework, former IAPA President (2000-2001) Danilo Arbilla will receive an award from the Uruguayan Ministry of Education and Culture for his career as a journalist "and his struggle for press freedom a fundamental pillar of any democratic state.

Media representatives, journalists, activists, researchers, and freedom of expression experts worldwide participate in activities organized by UNESCO from 2 - 5 May under the theme "Journalism Under Digital Siege."

World Press Freedom Day, celebrated every year on May 3, was established in commemoration of the Windhoek Declaration, a document containing principles on the defense of press freedom, drafted in 1991 during a meeting of African journalists promoted by UNESCO.

IAPA is a non-profit organization dedicated to defending and promoting freedom of the press and expression in the Americas. It comprises more than 1,300 publications from the western hemisphere; and is based in Miami, Florida, United States.