Resolution of the 71th General Assembly

Charleston, South Carolina

October 2 – 6, 2015

WHEREAS the full support of the Robert R. McCormick Foundation enabled with its valued donation and loan to the Inter American Press Association (IAPA) to purchase its headquarters building in Miami in 2000, it being named Jules Dubois in memory of the career of the reporter and correspondent for Latin America of the newspaper Chicago Tribune and chairman of the organization's Committee on Freedom of the Press and Information from 1950 to 1965

WHEREAS the IAPA acknowledges the vision and the efforts of those who encouraged and participated in the decision to acquire a headquarters, among other officers Jorge Fascetto, Jack Fuller, Edward Seaton, James McClatchy, Diana Daniels, Tony Pederson, Danilo Arbilla and Scott Schurz

WHEREAS the important donations contributed by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation and a considerable number of IAPA members that for years supported with concrete financial donations which made the operational viability of the headquarters under difficult circumstances possible

WHEREAS in the new financial context the IAPA took the decision to sell the building in September 2015, counting on the authorization of the Robert R. McCormick Foundation and the efforts of a special committee made up of its chairman Gustavo Mohme, Jorge Canahuati, Pierre Manigault, Juan Luis Correa and Alejandro Aguirre

WHEREAS both the acquisition in 2000 of the Jules Dubois Building and its sale in 2015 have been relevant for the financial sustainability of the organization


to thank the Robert R. McCormick Foundation for its donation, loans and its later authorization of the sale of the building

to formally thank the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation and each and every one of the members of the IAPA that made the operational sustainability of the building possible

to authorize that the new funds from the operation of the sale be used in accordance with criteria of effectiveness to be determined by a special committee created by the Executive Committee, whose principal objective is to reach the IAPA's sustainability and development in the long term.