16 December 2016

Awards: Just 30 days left to deadline for entering IAPA contest


MIAMI, Florida (December 16, 2016)—The Awards Committee of the Inter American Press Association (IAPA) today announced that there remain just 30 days until the deadline of the call for entries in its 2017 Excellence in Journalism contest.

The deadline is January 15, 2017 at midnight and expected is the participation of numerous print and digital publications, as well as news agencies, in some 33 nations of the Americas and the Caribbean.

The works will be in English, Spanish or Portuguese.

Marcela Noble Herrera, of Clarín, Argentina, the Awards Committee chair, stressed the importance of preparing the documentation and sending in the entries before the Christmas holidays. "To participate in a contest is a very serious act of reflection, balance and selection. If it is left to the last minute the risk is run of the documentation arriving incomplete or deficient," she said.

Every year the adjudication panel finds itself in the painful need to disqualify excellent journalistic works due to problems in the documentation and failure to comply with the rules. "That is why it is recommended to send in the entries before the deadline," Noble Herrera added.

The adjudication panel will evaluate the contesting works and will choose the finalists and the winner in each of the categories. The winners will receive certificates and cash awards during the 73rd General Assembly in October in Salt Lake City, Utah. The categories are the following: News Coverage on Mobiles, News Coverage, Data Journalism, In-Depth Journalism, University Journalism, Environmental Journalism, Human Rights and Community Service, Opinion, Features, Photography, Cartoons and Infographics.

Also awarded is the IAPA Press Freedom Grand Prize to a person or organization with significant achievements in favor of the cause of press freedom. In general, the awards consist of $2,000 and diplomas.

The IAPA is an organization that brings together hundreds of publications that include publishers, editors and other professionals dedicated to defending and enhancing press freedom in the Western Hemisphere.

The call for entries and rules can be obtained on the IAPA Web site, http://en.sipiapa.org/contenidos/home.html. To participate it is not necessary to belong to the IAPA.

Direct access: http://en.sipiapa.org/contenidos/call-for-entries.html


Chair – Marcela Noble Herrera, Grupo Clarín, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Vice-Chairman – Carlos Salinas, El Diario de Coahuila, Saltillo, Coahuila, Mexico


Manuel Aguilera, Hispano Post, Miami, Florida
Isabel Amorin, Editora Abril, São Paulo, Brazil
Rolando Archila, Contrapoder, Guatemala City, Guatemala
David Aponte, El Universal, Mexico, D.F., Mexico
Marco Araúz, Grupo El Comercio, Quito, Ecuador
Marcelo Baldovino, Saeta Canal 10, Montevideo, Uruguay
Armando Castilla, Vanguardia, Saltillo, Mexico
Rafael Bonnelly, Clicklogix Americas, Miami, Florida
Idania Chirinos, NTN24, Bogotá, Colombia
Leonor de Etchevehere, El Diario, Paraná, Argentina
Virginia Fetter, Diario Popular, Pelotas, Brazil
Iary Gómez Quesada, Diario Extra, San José, Costa Rica
Katherine Haine, Citymedia.press, London, Canada
Paola Hernández C., Diario Extra, San José, Costa Rica
Carlos Jornet, La Voz del Interior, Córdoba, Argentina
Claudia Martínez, Bloomberg, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Daniel McCosh, Grupo Salinas, Mexico, D.F., Mexico
Silvia Miró Quesada, El Comercio, Lima, Peru
Leonor Mulero, GRF Media, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Rosanna Rivera, Listín Magazine, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Jaime Ruiz, Novedades de Campeche, Campeche, Mexico