01 August 2022

IAPA Grants Awards for Excellence in Journalism 2022 to media outlets and journalists from 12 countries

The IAPA Grand Prize for Press Freedom 2022 was awarded to Mexican journalists who have fallen in the exercise of their profession during the past year.

Miami (August 2, 2022) - The Inter American Press Association (IAPA) awarded the Grand Prize for Press Freedom in memoriam to the 13 Mexican journalists killed since last October to date and announced the winners of the Awards for Excellence in Journalism 2022 in its 15 categories.

The awarded works, selected among more than one thousand applications, include journalists from Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Chile, Spain, United States, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Dominican Republic, Uruguay and Venezuela.

The awards will be presented during a special ceremony to be held on October 28 in Madrid, Spain, during the 78th General Assembly of the IAPA.

"The practice of journalism is a risky job, but nowhere in the Americas is it as risky as in Mexico. This posthumous award to 13 colleagues who gave their lives to report truthfully is more than deserved," said Leonor Mulero, chair of the IAPA Awards Committee.

As for this year's award-winning works, Mulero reflected that "they represent the raison d'être of journalism as an essential instrument for informing and educating the public, as well as for denouncing the ills of society".

The first prize in each category consists of a diploma and $2,000. See here the complete list of the winners of the first prizes and mentions in the 15 categories of the IAPA Excellence in Journalism 2022 contest.

On the other hand, the 13 murdered Mexican journalists who were conferred the Grand Prize for Press Freedom this year are: Sheila Johana García Olivera, Yessenia Mollinedo Falconi, Luis Enrique Ramírez, Armando Linares, Juan Carlos Muñiz, Jorge Camero, Heber López Vásquez, Roberto Toledo, Lourdes Maldonado, Margarito Martínez, José Luis Gamboa, Alfredo Cardoso Echeverría and Fredy López Arévalo.

Mulero thanked the members of the IAPA Awards Committee for their participation in an arduous selection and evaluation process that lasted several months. He also highlighted the contribution of the media and companies sponsoring the awards: El Tiempo, Bogotá, Colombia; Infobae; Grupo Opsa, San Pedro Sula, Honduras; El Comercio, Lima, Peru; The Gleaner, Kingston, Jamaica; Debate Media, Culiacán, Sinaloa, Mexico; La Prensa Gráfica, San Salvador, El Salvador; Clarín, Buenos Aires, Argentina; El Mercurio, Santiago, Chile; La República, Lima, Peru; La Prensa, Panama City, Panama; Grupo de Comunicaciones Corripio, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic; Robert Stempel College of Public Health & Social Work, Florida International University, Miami, Florida, and Consejo Latinoamericano de Acreditación de Periodismo y Comunicación (CLAEP).

The members of the Awards Committee, in addition to Mulero, are José Manuel Acevedo, Noticias RCN, Bogotá, Colombia; Manuel Aguilera, Hispano Post, Miami, Florida; Armando Castilla, Vanguardia, Saltillo, Mexico; Idania Chirinos, NTN24, Bogotá, Colombia; Clara Domínguez, Voz de América, Washington, D.C. Norberto Frigerio, Publirevistas, Buenos Aires, Argentina; Juan Pablo Illanes, El Mercurio, Santiago, Chile; Carlos Jornet, La Voz del Interior, Córdoba, Argentina; María Lorente, AFP, Montevideo, Uruguay; Andrea Miranda, El Debate, Sinaloa, Mexico; Silvia Miró Quesada, El Comercio, Lima, Peru; José Monegro, El Día, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic; Lucy Freire, La Prensa, Río Bamba, Ecuador; Marcela Noble Herrera, Clarín, Buenos Aires, Argentina; Nuria Piera, N Digital, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic; Laura Puertas, Medcom, Panama City, Panama; Oswaldo Quintana, RCTV, Caracas, Venezuela.

IAPA is a non-profit organization dedicated to the defense and promotion of freedom of the press and freedom of expression in the Americas. It is comprised of more than 1,300 publications in the Western Hemisphere and is headquartered in Miami, United States.