06 February 2024

Participate in the IAPA Excellence in Journalism 2024 contest

It includes two categories: Immigration Journalism and Solutions Journalism. The Contestant's Guide will help to better profile the entries.

Miami (February 23, 2024) - The Inter American Press Association (IAPA) is calling media professionals from North America, Latin America, the Caribbean, and Spain to participate in its Excellence in Journalism 2024 contest.

The chair of the IAPA Awards Committee, María Lorente, said that "recognizing and honoring quality journalism is to ensure the sustainability of a strong, resilient and always relevant press."

"I invite all my colleagues in the hemisphere to enter the competition and contribute to the enhancement of our news industry and democracy," said Lorente, regional director for Latin America of Agence France-Presse (AFP).

Only journalistic pieces actually published between June 1, 2023, and May 31, 2024 in a daily newspaper, weekly, magazine, news agency, online publication or radio and television stations will be considered as contestants. The closing date for receipt of nominations is May 31, 2024.

A jury composed of members of the IAPA Awards Committee will select the winner in each category. The majority of the first prizes in each category will be awarded U$S 2,000 (two thousand U.S. dollars). The award ceremony will be held in October 2024 during the 80th IAPA General Assembly in Cordoba, Argentina.

The IAPA will award the Grand Prize for Press Freedom to an individual or organization with significant achievements in favor of this cause.

To participate it is not necessary to be a member of IAPA; just click here.

The 16 categories of the SIP Excellence in Journalism 2024 Awards are:

Migration journalism Claudio Paolillo (sponsored by La Silla Rota, México).

Cartoon an Illustration (sponsored by El Tiempo, Bogotá, Colombia).

News coverage of current events (sponsored by Infobae).

Interview Alejandro Miró Quesada Garland (sponsored by El Comercio, Lima, Perú).

Chronicle (sponsored by Debate Media, Mexico).

Solutions journalism (sponsored by La Prensa, Riobamba, Ecuador).

Photography and video (sponsored by La Prensa Gráfica, San Salvador, El Salvador).

Opinion (sponsored by El Mercurio, Santiago, Chile).

Data journalism (sponsored by Grupo de Comunicaciones Corripio, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic).

In-depth journalism (sponsored by La República, Lima, Perú).

Environmental journalism Roberto Eisenmann Jr. (sponsored by La Prensa, Panama City, Panama).

College journalism (sponsored by the Latin American Council for the Accreditation of Education in Journalism and Communication (CLAEP).

Sustainability (sponsored by Agence France Presse, MVD-Bogotá).

Digital transformation (sponsored by Clarín, Buenos Aires, Argentina).

Executive of the Year

Great Friend of the Press

The IAPA thanks CNN en Español for its general sponsorship of the contest.

Call of entries and Contestant's Guidance here.

IAPA is a non-profit organization dedicated to defending and promoting freedom of the press and expression in the Americas. It comprises more than 1,300 publications from the western hemisphere and is based in Miami, Florida, United States.