WHEREAS the government of Cuba remains firm in its repression of independent journalism and continues to be considered one of the primary violators of freedom of expression in the Western Hemisphere; and WHEREAS, the freeing of 16 independent journalists since July, although it constitutes a positive note, is at the same time a concern in that the government conditions release on their acceptance of banishment from their country; at the same time, eight remain in prison; and WHEREAS independent journalists and bloggers are the object of acts of repression that range from short-time incarceration to the installation of filters to prevent their access to the Internet; and WHEREAS foreign correspondents continue to be controlled by the government and their coverage is limited on themes considered to be sensitive by the government. WHEREAS Principle 1 of the Declaration of Chapultepec warns that the exercise of freedom of expression and of the press “is not something authorities grant, it is an inalienable right of the people” THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE IAPA RESOLVES to reiterate and demand unconditional freedom for independent journalists who continue to be incarcerated, one of them since 1998; to condemn the attitude of the Cuban government to send into exile independent journalist after their release from prison where they were completing unjust sentences; to demand suspension of repressive actions against independent journalists and bloggers; to exhort Cuban authorities to cease their harassment against foreign correspondents accredited on the island, who are clearly impeded in their coverage of topics that authorities consider sensitive.