24 October 2020

New IAPA president announces heads of work commissions and subcommittees

Chairmen of the Commissions and Sub-commissions

Miami (October 24, 2020) .- The president of the Inter American Press Association (IAPA), Jorge Canahuati Larach, appointed the chairmen of the commissions and sub-commissions of the organization who will accompany him during his term in the 2020-2021 period.

Canahuati Larach, president of Grupo Opsa, San Pedro Sula, Honduras, expressed in his acceptance speech during the 76th General Assembly of the IAPA held from October 21 to 23 virtually, that he will continue with enthusiasm and zeal the outstanding task of his predecessor, Christopher Barnes, in the organization. He reiterated his "gratitude to all of you for giving me the opportunity to continue serving in the same way that all the members and authorities did during these 76 years of history."

"This is a huge task. And in order to make my work a little easier, I would like to mention the people I have asked to generously continue giving us their time and talents this coming year", he added.

These are the working commissions and sub-commissions and their leaders:

Freedom of the Press and Information: Carlos Jornet, La Voz del Interior, Córdoba, Argentina

And the sub-commissions:

Chapultepec: Roberto Pombo, El Tiempo, Bogotá, Colombia.

Impunity: Juan Francisco Ealy Lanz-Duret, El Universal, Mexico.

Salta: Laura Puertas, Medcom, Panama.

And the other committees are:

Finance: María Eugenia Mohme, La República, Lima, Peru

Audit: Pedro Rivero, El Deber, Santa Cruz, Bolivia

Fundraising and Resources: Armando Castilla, Vanguardia, Saltillo, Mexico

Investments: Sergio Romero, El Tribuno, Salta, Argentina

Membership: Gabriela Vivanco, La Hora, Quito, Ecuador

Legal Affairs: Martín Etchevers, Clarín, Buenos Aires, Argentina

International Affairs: Miguel Henrique Otero, El Nacional, Caracas, Venezuela

Awards: Leonor Mulero: GFR Media, San Juan, Puerto Rico

Internet: Martha Ramos, OEM, Mexico City, Mexico

Press Institute: Ernesto Kraiselburd, El Día, La Plata, Argentina.

Scholarships: Gilberto Urdaneta, El Regional del Zulia, Ciudad Ojeda, Venezuela.

IAPA is a non-profit entity dedicated to the defense and promotion of freedom of the press and of expression in the Americas. It is made up of more than 1,300 publications from the western hemisphere; and is based in Miami, Florida, United States.