IAPA calls for entries for 2017 Excellence in Journalism awards


Miami (November 23, 2016).- The Inter American Press Association (IAPA) invites journalists and media from the Western Hemisphere to its traditional Excellence in Journalism competition that every year recognize the quality of the content that they produce and its impact on society.

"The annual awards highlight the most relevant issues and express the renewal of the technologies and language that are inherent of the best of journalism in the hemisphere," said IAPA Prize Committee Chairwoman Marcela Noble Herrera, who announced that the closing date to submit the works is January 15, 2017.

"In this edition 2017, and in response of the feedback received from many journalists, we updated the categories in order to bring them in tune with current trends and needs in the practive of journalism," added Noble Herrera, from Grupo Clarín, Buenos Aires, Argentina.

A jury, composed by the members of the IAPA Prize Committee chaired by Noble Herrera, will choose the winner in each of the categories. Each first prize is rewarded with US $ 2,000 (two thousand U.S. dollars). The awards ceremony will be held in October 2017 during the 73rd IAPA General Assembly in Salt Lake, City, Utah, United States.

Every year the IAPA also awards its Press Freedom Grand Prize to a person or an organization with significant achievements in the cause of freedom of the press.

In order to participate, it is not necessary to belong to the IAPA. Check the regulations and register your work here.

The 13 categories are:

Cartoon (Sponsored by El Tiempo, Bogotá, Colombia)

Online News Coverage (Sponsored by The Wall Street Journal, New York, NY)

News Coverage (Sponsored by El Nacional, Caracas, Venezuela, and O Estado S. Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil)

Alejandro Miró Quesada Garland News Coverage on Mobile Phones (Sponsored by El Comercio, Lima, Peru)

Features (Sponsored by El Comercio, Quito, Ecuador, and McClatchy Newspapers, Sacramento, California)

Human Rights and Community Service (Sponsored by Panamá-América, Panama City, Panama; El Comercio, Lima, Peru; Organización Publicitaria, S.A., San Pedro Sula, Honduras, and La Nación, Buenos Aires, Argentina)

Photography (Sponsored by Washington Post Company, Washington, DC, and ABC Color, Asunción, Paraguay)

Infographics (Sponsored by Clarín, Buenos Aires, Argentina)

Opinion (Sponsored by El Mercurio, Santiago, Chile)

Data Journalism (Sponsored by El Diario de Hoy, San Salvador, El Salvador)

In-Depth Journalism (Sponsored by La República, Lima, Peru)

Pedro Joaquín Chamorro University Journalism (Sponsored by La Prensa, Managua, Nicaragua)

IAPA Press Freedom Grand Prize (Sponsored by Inter American Press Association)

The IAPA is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to the defense and promotion of freedom of the press and of expression in the Americas. It is made up of more than 1,300 print publications from throughout the Western Hemisphere and is based in Miami, Florida.