12 May 2017
Matt Sanders: "This help us become stronger and reinforce our commitment to persevere in our mission."

Miami, May 11, 2017 – Today the Interamerican Press Association (IAPA) announced with great satisfaction that 63 new members, who were approved through a vote by its Board of Directors in accordance with the organization's by-laws, have joined the institution.

Members of the Board of Directors from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, El Salvador, the United States, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela expressed their full unanimous support for these new members joining the organization, underscoring that this number includes media outlets from the printed press, digital media, independent journalists, and 16 Latin-American universities which are part of the accreditations system administered by the IAPA (Latin-American Accreditation Council for Journalism Education - CLAEP) fostering quality education for journalist of the future.

Mr. Matthew Sanders, President of the IAPA, senior editor and general manager of the Deseret Digital Media from Salt Lake City, Utah, stated that the joining of traditional media, digital media outlets and education centers, confers "greater vitality" to the institution to continue in its struggle and promotion of freedom of the press.

"The IAPA brings us together in the defense of a basic right of all peoples and these 63 new members help us become stronger and reinforce our commitment to persevere in our mission," affirmed Sanders.

On the other hand, the Chairman of the Membership Committee, Ed McCullough, thank the new members for joining "as they will help us make our cause for freedom of the press and democracy more relevant."

The new members joining us are:

Corporate Members: Televisa Corporación S.A. de C.V. (Mexico); Publirevistas (Argentina) and Multimedios del Caribe (Dominican Republic). Each one of them comprised of 10 media outlets.

Publications: La Opción de Chihuahua S. de R.L de C.V. (Mexico)

Digital Media: lanacion.com.ar (Argentina); Provideo, S.A. (Dominican Republic); Vertice Media LLC (United States); Notiminuto (Venezuela); La Hora de Cuba (Cuba); Oxigeno.bo (Bolivia); Punto Medio (Mexico) and Monetizacão (Brazil)

Individual Members: Marianela Montenegro de la Zerda (Bolivia); María Elena Gutiérrez Camacho (Peru); Henry Rafael Pintado (Peru); Edward L. Carter, J.D. LL.M. (United States) and Edmund Mc Cullough (United States)

Universities: Universidad Católica Argentina (Argentina); Universidad Católica de la Santísima Concepción (Chile); Universidad Autónoma de Bucaramanga (UNAB) (Colombia); Universidad Autónoma de Occidente (Colombia); Universidad de La Sabana (Colombia); Universidad del Norte (Colombia); Universidad Externado de Colombia (Colombia); Universidad Pontificia Bolivariana (Colombia); Universidad Santiago de Cali (Colombia); Universidad Técnica Particular de Loja (Ecuador); Universidad de Los Hemisferios (Ecuador); Instituto Tecnológico de Monterrey (Mexico); Universidad Anáhuac Mayab (Mexico); Universidad Anáhuac México Norte (Mexico); Universidad Peruana de Ciencias Aplicadas (UPC) (Peru) and Universidad San Martín de Porres (Peru).

The IAPA is a non-profit organization dedicated to the defense and promotion of freedom of the press and freedom of expression throughout the Americas. It is comprised of more than 1,300 publications from the Western Hemisphere, with its main offices located in Miami, Florida, United States