28 February 2023

IAPA Announces the Appointment of Juan David Bernal as the New Executive Director of CLAEP

He will replace Susana Mitchell, who directed the IAPA university accreditation program for 15 years.

Miami (February 28, 2023) - The dean of the Universidad Hemisferios of Ecuador, Juan David Bernal, is the new executive director of the Latin American Council for Accreditation of Education in Journalism and Communication (CLAEP), the Inter American Press Association (IAPA,) announced today.

Bernal replaces Susana Mitchell, from the Catholic University of Argentina, who led CLAEP for 15 years. 24 Journalism faculties have been accredited by this program that advocates high academic and ethical standards in training new journalists and social communicators in Latin America.

Bernal is the Dean of the Faculty of Communication and Information Technology at Universidad Hemisferios. He is a Colombian teacher-researcher who has lived in Ecuador for over 14 years and has been a correspondent for the US television network NBC, Claro Sports in Mexico, and Golf Channel Latin America. In addition, Bernal has collaborated with El Telégrafo, El Comercio, and FM Mundo in Ecuador. He is currently a Ph.D. candidate in Communication at the University of Navarra, Pamplona, Spain.

The president of the IAPA, Michael Greenspon, thanked "the excellent work of Mitchell" from the Media LAB of the Faculty of Social Sciences of the UCA in Buenos Aires. Greenspon, Global Head of Licensing & Print Innovation for the New York Times, added, "We are proud of her legacy at the helm of this institution of great importance to the journalistic profession."

Silvia Miró Quesada, president of CLAEP, highlighted, "Susana managed to consolidate a collaborative model of academic evaluation that strengthened our accreditation system." Miró Quesada, from El Comercio, Lima, Peru, said that with "Juan David, we will continue to focus on the humanist training of the journalist of the future."

CLAEP was born at the Hemispheric Conference on the Modernization of Journalism Education convened by the IAPA in 1995 in Cantigny, Illinois, with the support of the Robert R. McCormick Foundation, in which academics and journalists met. The objective was to find methods to achieve greater harmony between the teaching of journalism and the labor market in the media.

The accredited universities in six countries are:

Argentina: Pontificia Universidad Católica Argentina.

Colombia: Universidad Autónoma de Bucaramanga, Universidad Externado de Colombia, Universidad de La Sabana, Universidad Pontificia Bolivariana, Universidad Santiago de Cali, Universidad del Norte, Colegio Mayor de Nuestra Señora del Rosario, Corporación Universitaria Minuto de Dios, Universidad Tadeo Lozano, Universidad Autónoma de Occidente, Universidad del Tolima y Corporación Universitaria Minuto de Dios Sede Bello – Antioquia.

Chile: Universidad Católica de la Santísima Concepción.

Ecuador: Universidad Hemisferios, Universidad Técnica Particular de Loja, Universidad de Especialidades Espíritu Santo y Universidad Tecnológica ECOTEC.

México: Universidad Iberoamericana, Universidad Anáhuac Maya, Universidad Anáhuac México Norte, Universidad Iberoamericana (Mex (Col), Anáhuac Cancún.

Perú: Universidad de San Martín de Porres y Universidad Peruana de Ciencias Aplicadas (UPC).

The IAPA is a non-profit organization dedicated to defending and promoting freedom of the press and expression in the Americas. It comprises more than 1,300 publications from the Western Hemisphere; and is based in Miami, Florida, United States.